Jefferson County, Alabama

News and Announcements


Jefferson County Promotes Angela Dixon To Chief Financial Officer

After an extensive nationwide search Jefferson County is pleased to announce the promotion of Angela Dixon from Deputy Director of Finance to Chief Financial Officer. Dixon joined Jefferson County in Sept. 2017 and has more than 27 years of accounting, finance and management experience including eight years in public accounting.

“It’s gratifying after doing a nation wide search to know that you already have the best people working with you,” said County Manager and CEO for Jefferson County Tony Petelos. “This is going to help the County have a seamless transition especially during this time of the pandemic. She already has the confidence of her staff and is a natural leader.”

Angela is a licensed Certified Public Accountant in Alabama and Texas, a member of the Alabama Society of CPAs, and earned her Master of Accountancy degree from Auburn University and Bachelor of Science degree from Alabama State University.

Before joining Jefferson County, Dixon worked as Director of Fiscal Affairs at Wallace Community College Selma, Acting Internal Audit Director/Manager at the Alabama Community College System,Controller at Alabama State University and Texas Southern University, and Manager at Ernst & Young, LLP and Blazek and Vetterling, LLP.

Dixon is actively involved in her community and serves as the Southeast Region Treasurer for the National Alumni Association of Alabama State University and is a member of the Jefferson/Shelby County Metro Alumni Chapter.  She is a member of other organizations, including Women Leading Government – Alabama Chapter, charter member of the National Association of Black Accountants - Birmingham Chapter,charter member of Toastmasters International – Iron City Chapter, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. - Montgomery Alumnae Chapter and Auburn Alumni Association. 

About Jefferson County

Founded in 1819, Jefferson County is Alabama’s most populated county with more than 700,000 residents. The County is governed by five commissioners elected from specific districts. Detailed information on those districts and services provided by Jefferson County can be found at